

FALL 2020 PLANNING TASK FORCE UNIVERSITYWIDE WORK GROUPS

Updated May 27, 2020

Research Workgroup

Lead: Denis Wirtz

Vice Deans	for Research	
SON	Vice Dean for Research	Cheryl Himmelfarb
BSPH	Vice Dean for Research	Gregory Kirk
WSE	Vice Dean for Research	Larry Nagahara
KSAS	Vice Dean for Research	John Toscano
Faculty		
SOM	Assistant Professor, Pharmacology and Molecular	Netz Arroyo
	Sciences	Kaina Calan
	Assistant Professor, Medicine	Keira Cohen
	Associate Director, Research Animal Resources	Eric Hutchinson
	Assistant Professor, Pathology	Heba Mostafa
	Associate Professor, Oncology	Vasan
		Yegnasubramanian
	Professor, Molecular Biology and Genetics	Geraldine Seydoux
BSPH	Professor, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology	Andy Pekosz
	Chair, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology	Ashi Weenaratna
WSE	Professor, Civil and Systems Engineering	Ben Schafer
KSAS	Associate Professor, Chemistry	Rebekka Klausen
	Professor, Chemistry	Tyrel McQueen
Students		
SOM	PhD Student	Michael Pokrass
	Postdoc	Matt Poyton
BSPH	Postdoc	Kat Moon
WSE	PhD Student	Bria Macklin
	PhD Student	Elliot Wainright
	Postdoc	Emily Wisniewski
KSAS	PhD Student	Kirsten Endresen
Finance and	d Administration	
BSPH	Interim Vice Dean for Finance and Administration	Kate Calvin
WSE	Associate Dean for Finance and Administration	Chad Clapsaddle
	Assistant Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Academic Affairs	Christine Kavanaugh
Critical Sup	port Functions	

BSPH/Facilities	Director of Facilities Management	Marty Kajic
Facilities	Senior Director, Plant Operations	David Ashwood
Gov't Affairs	Assistant Director, Federal Affairs	Kristen Reek
Legal	Senior Associate General Counsel	Theresa Colecchia
Occ. Health	Assistant Director, Occupational Health	James Bukowski
	Interim Director, Occupational Health Services	Clarence Lam
	Manager, Health, Safety and Environment	Perry Cooper
HR	Director, Human Resources	Heather Mason
Procurement	Chief Procurement Officer	Brian Smith
UA	Associate Vice Provost for Research	Sue Porterfield
	Office of the Provost	Courtney McQueen

Sub-Group: PI Preparation Lead: Ben Schafer, Professor, Dept. of Civil and Systems Engineering, WSE

Vice Deans for Research		
WSE	Vice Dean for Research	Larry Nagahara
KSAS	Vice Dean for Research	John Toscano
Faculty		
SOM	Assistant Professor, Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences	Netz Arroyo
	Associate Professor, Oncology	Vasan
		Yegnasubramanian
BSPH	Chair, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology	Ashi Weeraratna
KSAS	Professor, Dept. of Chemistry	Tyrel McQueen
Students		
WSE	Postdoc	Emily Wisniewski
Finance and Ad	Iministration	
BSPH	Interim Vice Dean for Finance and Administration	Kate Calvin
Critical Suppor	t Functions	
Facilities/	Director, Facilities Management	Marty Kajic
BSPH		
Occ Health	Assistant Director, Occupational Health	James Bukowski
UA	Associate Vice Provost for Research	Sue Porterfield

Sub-Group: Lab Safety

Lead: Andy Pekosz, Professor, Dept. of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, BSPH

Vice Deans for Research			
BSPH	Vice Dean for Research	Gregory Kirk	
Faculty			
SOM	Associate Director, Research Animal Resources	Eric Hutchinson	
	Assistant Professor, Pathology	Heba Mostafa	
	Professor, Molecular Biology and Genetics	Geraldine Seydoux	
Students			
BSPH	Postdoc	Kat Moon	
WSE	PhD Student	Bria Macklin	
Critical Support Functions			
UA	Vice Provost for Research	Denis Wirtz	

Facilities	Senior Director, Plant Operations	Dave Ashwood
Occ. Health	Manager, Health, Safety and Environment	Perry Cooper
	Interim Director, Occupational Health Services	Clarence Lam
Procurement	Chief Procurement Officer	Brian Smith
HR	Director, Human Resources, University Administration	Heather Mason

Sub-Group: Student/Postdoc

Lead: Keira Cohen, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Medicine, SOM

Vice Deans for	r Research	
SON	Vice Dean for Research	Cheryl Himmelfarb
Faculty		
KSAS	Associate Professor, Dept. of Chemistry	Rebekka Klausen
Students		
SOM	PhD Student	Michael Pokrass
	Postdoc	Matt Poyton
BSPH	Postdoc	Kat Moon
WSE	PhD Student	Bria Macklin
	PhD Student	Elliot Wainright
	Postdoc	Emily Wisniewski
KSAS	PhD Student	Kirsten Endresen
Finance and A	dministration	
WSE	Assistant Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Academic	Christine
	Affairs	Kavanaugh
Critical Suppo	ort Functions	
UA	Office of the Provost	Courtney McQueen

Sub-Group: Libraries, Archives, & Museums

Co-Leads: Nancy Kass, Vice Provost for Graduate and Professional Education Winston Tabb, Dean, University Libraries

Faculty		
SOM	Professor, History of Medicine	Jeremy Greene
KSAS	Professor, Near Eastern Studies	Betsy Bryan
	Chair/Professor, Classics	Chris Cannon
	Austen-Stokes Professor, History of Art	Lisa Deleonardis
Students		
SOM	PhD Student, History of Medicine	Kristin Brig
KSAS	PhD Student, Near Eastern Studies	Lingxin Zhang
	PhD Student, History	Christina Thomas
Libraries		
PEA	Director, Peabody at Homewood Program	Suhnne Ahn
	Head Librarian	Kathleen
		DeLaurenti
SOM	Director, Welch Medical Library	Anne Seymour
SAIS	Head Librarian	Sheila Thalhimer
Sheridan	Director, Conservation and Preservation	Mark Pollei
	Curator of Rare Books	Earle Havens

Critical Support Functions		
Occ. Health	Manager, Health, Safety and Environment	Perry Cooper
Facilities	Senior Director, Plant Operations	David Ashwood
UA	Assistant Vice Provost for Student Life Strategy and	Sarah Cunningham
	Policy	

Sub-Group: Human Subjects/Clinical Research

Lead: Daniel Ford, Professor and Vice Dean for Clinical Investigation, SOM

Vice Deans for l	Research	
SOM	Associate Dean for Research, All Children's Hospital	Neil Goldenberg
	Assistant Dean, Human Research Protections and Director,	Megan Singleton
	Human Research Protections Program	
BSPH	Vice Dean for Research	Gregory Kirk
SON	Vice Dean for Research	Cheryl Himmelfarb
Faculty		
SOM	Professor, Medicine	Todd Brown
	Director, Integrated Research Center for Fetal Medicine	Irina Burd
	Associate Cancer Center Director for Clinical Research	Mike Carducci
	Director, General Internal Medicine Fellowship Program	Geetanjali Chander
	Director, Clinical Research Administration	Janet Heussner
	Vice Chair, Clinical and Translational Research	Gail Daumit
	Associate Director, JH Bayview Clinical Research Unit	Suzanne Jan DeBeur
	Associate Professor, Pediatrics	Corinne Keet
	Associate Professor, Neurology	Ellen Mowry
	Director, Clinical Research Projects	Sumati Murli
	Director, Cardiovascular Research	Wendy Post
	Associate Professor, Pediatrics	Rachel Thornton
	Associate Professor, Psychiatry	Ryan Vandrey
	Medical Director, Pulmonary Function Laboratory	Bob Wise
	CO Research Nurse Manager, Cancer Immunology	Katrina Purtell
BSPH	Director, Clinical Cancer Genetics and Prevention Service	Kala Visvanathan
	Assistant Professor, International Health, Center for	Kawsar Talaat
	Immunization Research	
Institutional Re	view	
BSPH	Director, Institutional Review Board	Joan Petit